The Musée du Louvre houses 35,000 works of art drawn from eight department, dedicated to the permanent collections. The Tuileries and Carrousel gardens form a pleasant, leafy setting. The Department of Near Eastern Antiquities is devoted to the ancient civilizations of the Near East and encompasses a period that extends from the first settlements, which appeared more than ten thousand years ago, to the advent of Islam. The Department of Egyptian Antiquities presents vestiges from the civilizations that developed in the Nile Valley from the late prehistoric era. This department of ancient cultures oversees works from the Greek, Etruscan, and Roman civilizations, The Department of Paintings encompasses every European school from the 13th century to 1848. Another Departments is devoted to the collection of works on paper, which include prints, drawings, pastels, and miniatures. The Department of Islamic Art displays 2000 objects, reflecting the breadth of inspiration and creativity of the Islamic lands over thirteen centuries and three continents. The Department of Decorative Arts presents a highly varied range of objects, including jewellery, tapestries, ivories, bronzes, ceramics, and furniture. The collection extends from the Middle Ages to the first half of the 19th century.

Museum: Louvre
City: Paris
Country: France
Address: Musée du Louvre
Website: http://www.louvre.fr