The Vatican Museums

The Vatican Museums are a complex of different pontifical museums and galleries. The Pio-Clementine Museum was named after the popes, who set up the first major curatorial section. Later popes considerably expanded the collections of Classical Antiquities, to which was added the Chiaromonti Museum and the “Braccio Nuovo” gallery. Gregory XVI founded the Etruscan Museum and the Egyptian Museum. The Lateran Profane Museum was expanded in 1854 with the addition of the Pio Christian Museum. This museum is comprised of ancient sculptures (especially sarcophagi) and inscriptions with ancient Christian content. In 1910, the Hebrew Lapidary was established. The Museums also include the Gallery of Tapestries, the Gallery of Maps, the Sobieski Room, the Room of the Immaculate Conception; the Raphael Stanze and the Loggia, the Chapel of Nicholas V , the Sistine Chapel, the Borgia Apartment, the Vatican Pinacoteca, the Missionary-Ethnological Museum, the historical museum and the Collection of Modern and Contemporary Religious Art.

Museum: The Vatican Museums
City: Rome
Country: Italy
Address: Viale Vaticano