The Royal Collection

Shaped by the personal tastes of kings and queens over more than 500 years, the Royal Collection includes paintings, drawings and watercolour, furniture, ceramics, clocks, silver, sculpture, jewellery, books, manuscripts, prints and maps, arms and armour, fans, and textiles. It is held in trust by The Queen as Sovereign for her successors and the Nation, and is not owned by her as private individual. The Collection has largely been formed since the Restoration of the Monarchy in 1660. Some items belonging to earlier monarchs, for example Henry VIII, also survive. The greater part of the magnificent collection inherited and added to by Charles I was dispersed on Cromwell’s orders during the Interregnum. The royal patrons now chiefly associated with notable additions to the Collection are Frederick, Prince of Wales; George III; George IV; Queen Victoria and Prince Albert; and Queen Mary, consort of George V. The works of art from the Royal Collection can be enjoyed both in the historic settings for which they were originally commissioned or acquired and in the purpose-built Queen’s Galleries. The Royal Collection is on display at the royal palaces and residences accross the United Kingdom, all of which are open to the public.

Museum: The Royal Collection
City: London
Country: United Kingdom